Say Goodbye to JavaScript runtime type errors with TypeScript

Anjula Shanaka
2 min readJul 3, 2020

Are you exhausted with JavaScript runtime type errors and you can’t give up JavaScript? The perfect solution is TypeScript.

Let me share my story about why I had to learn TypeScript. I’m a volunteer to a nonprofit organization named Sustainable Education Foundation- SEF in SEF we were working on a new project called “Academix”. When I had to work on the frontend for Academix It was written with TypeScript and ReactJs. In order to do my task, I had to learn TypeScript and now I’m loving it.

Want to read this story later? Save it in Journal.

Let me give you a small introduction about TypeScript. TypeScript is also an open-source pure object-oriented programming language. It was designed and developed by Microsoft. TypeScript is a superset of Javascript that compiles to plain JavaScript. So TypeScript needs to be compiled to Js in order to run that’s why it doesn’t show runtime errors. I’ll share a few key differences between Ts and Js.

  • TypeScript code needs to be compiled while JavaScript code doesn’t need to compile.
  • TypeScript supports a feature of prototyping while JavaScript doesn’t support this feature.
  • TypeScript uses concepts like types and interfaces to describe data being used whereas JavaScript has no such concept.
  • TypeScript is a powerful type system, including generics & JS features for large size projects whereas JavaScript is an ideal option for small size projects.
TypeScript needs to be compiled but JavaScript don’t

TypeScript looks awesome, isn’t it? Then starts learning today. I think official documentaries are great to get started.

If you are interested in becoming a volunteer at the Sustainable Education Foundation- SEF. Do not hesitate to Join Us.

📝 Save this story in Journal.

👩‍💻 Wake up every Sunday morning to the week’s most noteworthy stories in Tech waiting in your inbox. Read the Noteworthy in Tech newsletter.

--

--

Anjula Shanaka

GSoC ’22 @openMRS | CTO @SEF | Developer @promiseQ | Undergraduate @USJ